
 

 

 

 

 

 

Basic Guidelines 
Presented by Mike Savage 

 

 Traditionally when you have a void and are looking for slam, bidding Blackwood—asking for aces or 

controls—is considered not to be the best approach and cue bidding seems to be the only other option to 

find out about controls.  However, wouldn’t it be wonderful if you could ask for aces or controls and tell 

your partner not to count any in a certain suit (your void)? 

 Well there is a convention that does just that.  It’s an expensive one though, as the inquiry bid almost 

always starts at the 5-level!  It’s called Exclusion Blackwood—as you cue-bid the suit you want excluded 

from partner’s answer to Blackwood.  After trump agreement—usually shown, sometimes implied—a 

jump shift to the 5-level (if hearts are trumps, to 4S) in a suit that can’t be trumps is Exclusion 

Blackwood.  Some examples are: 1C-1S 3S-5D (Exclusion Blackwood with a diamond void; 1H-3H 4S 

(Exclusion Blackwood with a spade void); 2C-2D 3D-5C (Exclusion Blackwood with a club void), etc.  It 

promises a good trump fit and a hand strong enough to play at the 5 or 6-level no matter what partner’s 

response turns out to be. 

 Perhaps the most important thing about using Exclusion Blackwood is not to use it—unless you have 

discussed what bids are Exclusion Blackwood in your partnership.  The simplest rules for deciding what is 

Exclusion Blackwood are those mentioned above—a jump shift to the five-level in a suit that can’t be the 

trump suit on the auction or a jump shift to 4S if hearts are trumps.  However some partnerships use 

Exclusion Blackwood over other sequences.  Perhaps the most common is after a 1%T or 2%T opener, 

followed by a Texas Transfer to four of a major and then if responder bids a new suit (4S over hearts or 

any 5-level new suit), it’s Exclusion Blackwood.  Beyond these “common” instances of Exclusion 

Blackwood, much partnership discussion and agreement will be needed to decide on other instances.  One 

instance that might bear discussion is: when is a second-round (or later) jump shift to the 4 or 5-level a 

splinter raise—and when is it Exclusion Blackwood?  Only partnership discussion and agreement can 

answer this question.  There are experts in dedicated partnerships that use Exclusion Blackwood in still 

other sequences—a few of which utilize altogether different responses. 

 What are the standard responses to Exclusion Blackwood?  The easiest on memory would be to use 

whatever regular Blackwood structure your partnership plays—but it is highly recommended that you use 

either standard 0, 1, 2, 3, Blackwood responses or, my favorite, 0314 Roman Keycard Blackwood 

responses (1430 Roman Keycard responses are not recommended for Exclusion).  Theoretically, it seems 

best that you use a version of Blackwood that has zero as its first step (either aces or controls—your 

choice).  Since you are usually starting Exclusion Blackwood at a very high level, you need to be able to 

show 0 controls with the 1
st
 step and 1 with the 2

nd
 step. 

 Should you use queen-asking bids after partner’s response to Exclusion?  Sometimes you’ll have a 

known 10+card fit; in others, you will have the queen.  Playing queen-asking bids means you’ll have to 

start king-asking one step higher.  Some pairs never queen-ask after their partner’s response to Exclusion, 

they only ask for specific kings.  Others only ask for the queen if they can do so below trumps at the five-

level and some insist on always using queen-asking bids, regardless of the level.  It’s a partnership 

choice.  If not queen-asking, any non-trump suit bid after Exclusion is king-asking—asking for that 

specific king. 

 In dedicated partnerships, other instances of Exclusion are possible, especially with minor suit fits.  

However, if your partnership hasn’t specifically agreed on an instance when Exclusion might apply, 

presume it’s not Exclusion until discussed—as a misunderstanding could be catastrophic! 


